See this image larger
Millie and me. This is my "Before"

See this image larger
Paddington the Hahn's macaw at 5 months in September 2008. You can see my double chins.

See this image larger
A little more than halfway! Looking and feeling great! (42 lbs lost, 08/08/2009)

go to goodies page
Workout Shoes
go to goodies page
Fruit Smoothie
go to goodies page
Thank You Message

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Ever since I got a look at the pictures back from my honeymoon, I've avoided the camera as much as possible. Every time I haven't, I've regretted it. I could always make-believe that how I looked in the mirror wasn't as bad as it was, but there's just no arguing with a photograph. And the worst part is? I've gained 25 pounds in just three years since then.

So I joined Sparkpeople. In two months, I've lost 19 of that 25. I hit one goal yesterday of falling below a BMI of 30 ... So at least I don't have to mentally remind myself all the time that I'm literally obese anymore. My next goal is to hit my wedding weight by the time of my brother-in-law's wedding. (This is because I am cheap. I wanted to fit into the suits I bought for my wedding and wouldn't have to buy new, fatter suits.) That's in three weeks, and if I don't hit it exactly, at least I'll come very close. (In fact, the suits fit comfortably already!)

My big eventual goal is to get back to 180 to 190. Two months ago when I started this, I didn't think that was a realistic goal. Now, I'm sure I can do it. Maybe not within a year, but if I can keep at it, it'll happen.

Also, my wife is making the lifestyle change with me. She has nothing to worry about in the weight department, so regardless of her protests, I can tell it's just to help me. And it does help. More than I could ever thank her enough for.

Member Since: 1/15/2009

Fitness Minutes: 5,346

My Goals:
Have BMI below 30 - Accomplished!

Hit my wedding weight (lose 25 pounds) by my brother-in-law's wedding on 04/04/2009 - Mostly accomplished (took until 04/10/2009)

Lose total of 60 pounds

Run another 10K (I haven't since I was 15)

My Program:
For breakfast I have a smoothie with milk, kale, carrots, flax seed, and two different fruits each day. Otherwise I don't follow a set diet, except to make sure I get enough nutrition without going over on calories each day.

Most of my exercise is from a collapsible exercise bike that I set up in front of the TV after work. I ride it for an hour four or five times a week, and increase the tension as my abilities increase.

Personal Information:
My name is Mark, I grew up in Utah, and I moved to Southern California with my wife a couple of years ago. (It's been such a great change!) My wife is British, and we someday plan to move back to England for her. We have a wonderful Jack Russell Terrier named Millie and a terrific Hahn's Macaw named Paddington.

Other Information:
I was a geek before it was cool.

Read More About ULTIMATEWAGER - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 228.0 
Login to Leave Comment