See this image larger
My Pride and Joy. David, Jackie and Dusty 2009

See this image larger
My Angel and her Guardian Angel

See this image larger
Me and grand daughter Skyla, on my 50th birthday. The day I started my new program

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Mixed Nuts

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with LAURASELF
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I lost 34 lbs in 3 1/2 months from July-Oct 2009 then took 6 months off for personal time, now I'm back! As of April 1, 2010 I will be restarting SparkPeople and following my healthy eating and exercise program.

After having about 20 surgeries on my knees, I played racketball for the 1st time in my life! Only lasted 15 minutes but only expected to last 5 minutes. I had to take it slow & easy to make sure I don't hurt my knees or back.

I am 46yrs old, been disabled since I was a teenager having over 20 knee surgeries to date. Both knees are finally replaced and its time for me to loose the weight gained and start living a healthy lifestyle.

I have 3 grown children who make life worth living. My daughter is the oldest and my heart and soul. My oldest son is self employed and my strength and my drive to succeed and my youngerst is MY American Soldier he is my pride and my willingness to keep thingking positive.

Member Since: 8/19/2009

Fitness Minutes: 4,925

My Goals:
I have set my goals up so I can reach one quickly to help with motivation. I want to get under 200lbs by New Years. My ideal weight is around 150lbs but having a goal I can reach sooner than later helps me feel successful.

My Program:
First I am eating healthier following the guide for portion sizes, cutting out regular soda then working on ridding myself of the soda all together. I have both knees replaced so exercise has been null in myself. I started walking or rding a stationary bike for 10 minutes at a time. Then added strength exercises at my local YMCA.

Personal Information:
I was raised in the Air Foce so I have lived many places. I was born in California and raised in Marion, Ohio. After marring and having children I moved quite a bit. I have lived in Ohio x3 times, Illinois, Florida x 2 times, Arkansas and reside in East Tenneese.

Other Information:
As of 2-14, 2010 I felt the Holy Spirit within my soal. I had been a CHristian and followed & praised God daily but on this date I actually FELT I was a Christian.

I realized I didn't need a man in my life, Jesus Crist loves me more than any mortal man ever can.

My life is complete & I feel content just being a friend and a daughter, mother and sister.

I told people on Valentines day not to feel bad for us who don't have a significant other to spend that "special" day with. With the love of our family & friends, and the llove Jesus Christ and for us is more love than we could ever experience with just one man.

I have a Shih Tzu and if it wasn't for her I may not have made it through the past 2 years. I have even noticed when I am hurt or upset she is too. She crawls on my chest and lays with me.
My hobbies are photography (LOVE it and pretty darn good at it too! LOL), traveling, computers learning. I do not enjoy reading unless it is

Read More About LAURASELF - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 22)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 10.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hi Laura, So glad to see you back on! Had to take a break myself. Started home schooling Phillip and it took a lot og time. Guess I am at least back on for the summer., have to wait and see. emoticon
    2649 days ago
    Hello everyone, glad to be back. I loose weight on my own but I do it better with your help and encouragement. I started at 241 lbs and am down to 233 so I have a ways to go but I know I can do it and have plenty to do it for.

    Laura emoticon
    2651 days ago