KATHRYNGC
250,000-299,999 SparkPoints 292,318
SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
One of the trails going into county Towner's Woods that hike n bike runs beside. Many years ago this was home to Mound Builders.


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
From:
SIORANTH
go to goodies page
Nanny
From:
PATRICIA-CR
go to goodies page
Balloons
From:
PLUTONIANGIRL87
Awards

 
Interact with KATHRYNGC
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


Am 67yr old and retired a year ago due to cuts in the Developmental Disabilities field. Was , also, Special Olympics field and track assistant coach. Due to changes in jobs for daughter and son-in-law, I spend most of time driving and hour back and forth to take care of 3 grandchildren and their home.".
Due to needing a double knee replacement, was advised to lose weight a few years back. Lost 65 pounds, doing 99% clean eating. Discovering SparkPeople was a blessing when added to my leaning how to be on a healthy journey.
Grew up in church thus God is major part of my life.
As a result of taking the healthy journey path, exercise was six days a week,now since being with grandkids, I really struggle to work in exercise and not picking up old eating habits. Also, chose to eat organic . Really feel better for it.



















Member Since: 3/8/2016

Fitness Minutes: 87,857

My Goals:
Lose 35 pounds have regained due to being caregiver as well as not having access to gyms.
To stop drinking soda 99.9%
To rework time to get exercising done around the kids.
To strength workout alteast 3 time a week.
Do 5 days of 30 min of cardio
Stretching/yoga 30 min


My Program:
5% challenge : Have a diet to follow? yes Also, due to health issue, salt is monitor and is factor when buying foods.
Followed before: Yes, it is one that was prepared for me by a nutritionist leading a course took at Wellness Center.
Grocery list?: Buy same meats each time. Buy produce available.
Shop: Farmer's Markets weekly. Local farm near daughter's about 2-3 times a month. Have a garden.
Recipes?: Try new ones about 2-3 times a month. Most are from book, "100 Days of Real Food".
Kitchen clean?: I store/prepare/clean my stuff separate from him.
Do you have items ready to start challenge: yes



Personal Information:
67 yr old. Adult son and adult daughter which the Lord blessed me with 3 grandchildren thru her. Most of hobbies are done only when I am back in my house. I drive a hour one way to daughters to care for kids and their home while parents work. SnL is nurse at children's hospital and going to school for nurse practitioner. She is firefighter/EMT at a major airport as well as Emergency room paramedic at local hospital.. This is why I am there from 2 days to 3 weeks. Oh well, keeps me from getting bored. LOL


Other Information:
5% Challenge- Fitness




Read More About KATHRYNGC - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 12)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
Blogs
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 184.0 
203.2
197.4
191.6
185.8
180
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v TIKITAMI
    I'm a puddle jumper too... Guess my granddaughters are now third generation jumpers lol
    1314 days ago
  • v BEANPOD61
    Thanks for the Spark Goodie! and your comments! I love your " crabby pants " comment in your status- I can so relate. What about incorporating one meal a week from a fast food place and another day plan a soda. I sometimes find its better to plan and build your day around knowing those calories are coming, and enjoying the treat, than to keep denying yourself. Sometimes that can trigger a binge,then we feel guilty, then that evil twin wakes up and starts with the whole" you blew it - why bother" and the whole vicious cycle starts again...Just a thought ..Lots of luck and you CAN do it!!
    1315 days ago

    Comment edited on: 10/10/2017 9:03:50 PM
  • v LEANJEAN6
    Thank-yu so much--I shall enjoy the massage--Lynda
    1320 days ago
  • v 1STBUCKETITEM
    Thanks for your comment on Dave's Killer Bread. Yes, I also like it better than Ezekiel bread. I keep it fresh by freezing half of the loaf, sometimes separating the slices with wax paper, sometimes not... LOL. If you like cereal with lots of fiber & protein without a lot of sugar, try the Uncle Sam's cereal.

    My mom was from Ohio, but now all of my relatives back there have moved else where around the country. I've been in Nevada now more years than any other state (Michigan, Pennsylvania, Illinois, California, and for the past 25+years, Nevada).

    Enjoy your fall colors which should be about ready to show... here we don't see much until late October.
    emoticon
    1335 days ago

    Comment edited on: 9/20/2017 9:04:06 PM
  • v KACEYSW
    Thank you so much for sharing your story. I will definitely keep you in my prayers! And thank you so much for your positivity. It truly helps keep me focused on my goals and on overcoming the weight setback with the health and surgery issues I have experienced. You are a blessing!
    1359 days ago
Member Comments (377):  << First< Previous6869707172Next >Last >>