See this image larger
New 'do!

See this image larger
June 3, 2009. My first week as a SparkGirl

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Miss You
go to goodies page

Shared Food Tracker
Interact with JOOPRINCESS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Tara. I'm 34 years old. My weight has gotten out of control. I want my life back.

I've got Degenerative Disc Disease, 2 herniated discs (L4-S1), a connective tissue disorder similar to Lupus, Fibromyalgia, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and a lot of optimism and hope.

I'm co-Leader of Lupus - Team Butterfly and it's an amazing experience. The amount of hope, serenity, sanity and peace in my team members amazes me. They've educated me and lifted my spirits. I became co-Leader of The GLBT Spark Network: We Are Family in January of 2011 and the team is a BLAST!

I'm re-focusing on my personal goals right now. When I first joined I was more focused on getting my diseases into remission before focusing on weight loss, but now I learned I can do both at the same time. My loss has been slow (for me) but the scale has been heading in the right direction. Each pound lost is for my health, my back, my joints, and my family.

I live with my partner, Katie and her (our) lovely 9 year old daughter Jori. We have two dogs. Peyton is our 12 year old Blue Heeler. Mookie turned 1 on Halloween 2010. She's our Catahoula Leopard Dog/Pit mix. They are both rescue dogs. They are both altered. I'm an animal advocate and come from a family of animal lovers.

PLEASE SPAY AND NEUTER YOUR ANIMALS!!!! The world already has enough puppies and kitties and the shelters are needlessly full.

I have lived in Utah, Iowa, Nebraska and now reside in Texas. It's a more rural part of town with fields of wildflowers and longhorn surrounding us.

I'm told by many that I'm introspective. I'm spiritual and try to be as loving as I'm capable of being to all G-d's creatures. Guess what? That includes you.

Together, we can do this. :)

Member Since: 5/27/2009

Fitness Minutes: 11,526

My Goals:
I have a degenerative disc disease, herniated discs, connective tissue disorder and arthritis in all my major joints. My goal is to slowly but consistently make better decisions about nutrition and physical activity so that I can be a healthier person. One day at a time. :)

My Program:
I try to track every morsel of food I put in my body. I use the SP nutrition tracker. This causes me to pause before I eat anything, and keeps me on track for my calories, protein, carb and fat intake daily. I LOVE the tools SP has on this site. I also love all the amazing Sparkers I've met while being a member of the site. I try to log on every day and respond to goodies, comments, emails, blog postings and threads for my Spark Teams.

Personal Information:
I'm originally from Utah but have spent time in Iowa and Nebraska. I now live in Fort Worth, Texas.

Other Information:
I love: taking photos of the amazing clouds and sunsets here in Texas. I also like unconventional things, all kinds of music, being kind to others and loving unconditionally.

Read More About JOOPRINCESS - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 10)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 16.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (662):  123Next >Last >>