See this image larger
Before and after. My goal is to get back to my weight in the second picture.

See this image larger
Three of my recent collage art pieces.

See this image larger
My boy, at Olympic National Park.


Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with JHTATROE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

"You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough." -- Mae West

"You need three things to succeed in writing: discipline, luck, and talent. All we can do is to work on our discipline and hope we have the other two." -- Michael Chabon

My name is Jenn. I'm a 36-year-old geek turned writer and stay-at-home mom. After a scare with high blood pressure after my pregnancy, I'm trying to live a full, active life that will let me stay healthy for a long time to come.

I grew up in a family where books and learning were more important than sports or physical activity, so I'm always trying to balance my indoorsy, bookworm nature with the need to give my body its fair share of my attention. I recently moved from Colorado to Washington and the relocation has threatened my healthy habits in a major way.

After losing 40 pounds with SparkPeople, I reached the optimal weight for my height (5'9") in August 2006 and managed to maintain it until I moved in December 2007. From there, it was a fast downhill slide until I found myself right back where I started, with worsening health problems and massive amounts of guilt because I should know better.

Now, I'm starting over and looking for habits I can maintain no matter where I live or what's going on in my life. I want my body back.

High Weight: 207 (2002)
Spark Start Weight: 199 (14 March 2006)
Healthy BMI Weight Range: 129-168
Goal Range: 155-160

Member Since: 3/14/2006

Fitness Minutes: 11,702

My Goals:
I want to get off blood pressure medication and regain my healthy lifestyle, working out regularly and eating well without falling off the wagon and binging. I also want to use the SparkPeople strategies to achieve my goal of making a living doing something that I love.

My Program:
I'm setting small goals and rewarding myself when I achieve them. Each month, I review my progress from the previous month and set new goals based on my problem areas.

Personal Information:
I recently moved to the Seattle area after living in northern Colorado for 10 years. I'm married with an eight-year-old son.

Other Information:
My interests are all over the place. I love reading and am trying to do more of it after a long, dry spell. I play D&D. I belly dance. I like gardening, although I prefer the results to the process. I'm a writer. I'm fascinated by pirates, mobsters, dance hall girls, the Golden Age of Hollywood, and Tudor England. I always wanted to be a bad girl and could never quite pull it off.

Read More About JHTATROE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 224.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (60):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>