See this image larger
I'm on the front, right. July 2015

See this image larger
March 2016

See this image larger
Me on July 18, 2013

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with JESSGARRETT
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hi everyone! My name is Jess and I'm a 33 year old single mother of one 12 year old little boy. I began my weight loss journey with a vengeance at the beginning of 2012 after attending my 10 year high school reunion over the summer. I realized how big I had gotten and how terrible I looked when I saw the pictures from that time. It still took me a couple of months of fighting with myself to come to the conclusion that even if I failed miserably, I had to make a change in my life.

Throughout my journey so far, I've learned that I've been hiding behind my weight for a number of reasons. I have also found that as I'm losing weight I've found many things about myself that I love, but I'm finding that there are still things about me that I don't love yet. I say yet because I know I'll reach that point, but I'm not there yet.

During my journey, I hit a plateau pretty hard and gave up on myself and my journey with the belief that if there was no weight loss, there was no success. I forgot that my journey is not only about weight loss, but about overall health and improving my way of life. I regained all that I lost and have had to start over again. It's been a humbling experience. I'm picking myself up and not letting this fall back get the best of me. I CAN be successful!

My biggest struggles right now are motivation and making healthy choices. I'm trying to work through them every day. Some days are much better than others.

Member Since: 7/25/2011

Fitness Minutes: 9,094

My Goals:
Focus on healthier food choices. No fast food for the month of January. Reintegrate exercise into my routine. Teach myself and my son how to live a healthier and more active lifestyle.

My Program:
Keep a food journal.

Walk and use DVD workouts from Bob Harper.

Personal Information:
My name is Jess and I'm a 33 year old single mother of one. My son is the light of my life and one of my main motivators. I am a teacher who is currently working as a school secretary after having no success on the job market this past summer. 2016 was a rough year for me, but I have faith that 2017 will be a better year.

Other Information:
I'm an avid reader. I go through many books and even have two 5 shelf bookshelves that are double stacked on all shelves (not counting my Kindle collection). I'm also a movie lover, I generally stay away from horror, but otherwise I'm pretty open. I enjoy hiking, bowling, and spending time with friends and family.

Read More About JESSGARRETT - Profile Information moved here. (Updated December 30)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 269.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (71):  123Next >Last >>