20,000-24,999 SparkPoints 23,933
See this image larger
My first solo flight! October 2005. Approx. 265-275 lbs

See this image larger
8/14/08. 205 lbs-Stretchy jr's size 13 (12W) jeans

See this image larger
December 2005. Approx 275-285lbs (my previous heaviest weight)

go to goodies page
Woo Hoo!
Intermittent Fa...
go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
go to goodies page
Balance Board

Interact with GIRLMEANT2FLY
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi! My name is Melissa. I am 33 years old, and I've been overweight almost my whole life. I am trying to change to a healthy lifestyle, and I am trying to use Zumba DVDs, Turbo Jam, and things like that.

I'm 5'9" tall, and after checking a BMI calculator, my goal is to get to about 140-150 (I'll pick a more specific weight when I get closer to my ideal weight and see what looks about right).

When I get to 190 lbs, and have the money for it, I'm going to look into going SKYDIVING (which has a weight limit of like 230 to it, so I couldn't do it originally) to mark my big "drop" in weight. ;-)

Member Since: 12/4/2006

Fitness Minutes: 20,505

My Goals:
--Get to my ideal weight (about 140-150) and a healthy BMI.

--Tone up my body, especially my abs.

--Get to a nice (medium-low) body fat percentage.

--Live a healthy lifestyle, for once.

--Fit into a size 6 or smaller, if I can (whatever looks right on me--I won't let myself become underweight just to fit into a smaller size)).

My Program:
I'm trying to portion control what I eat, and choose healthier options (whole grains, etc.)

I'm using Zumba DVDs and Turbo Jam DBDs for my exercise program--to lose weight (cardio), tone up (building muscle/strength), and to HAVE FUN exercising (so I can keep with the exercising both to lose weight AND to continue exercise even after I reach my ideal weight so I STAY at my goal weight and always be as healthy as I can).

I do also have a FitBit Charge 2 watch, so I use that to help me track my activity and water intake through the day.

Personal Information:
My name is Melissa, I'm 33 years old, and in November 2016 I moved to Gothenburg, Sweden, to be with my Swedish boyfriend. I am currently trying to find work (hopefully in Aviation, but I am also applying for jobs working with children and as an Office Assistant). I am hoping to finally start having kids in the next year or two, but I need to lose some weight before doing so.

Other Information:
Weight loss support buddies are definitely a plus! Feel free to add me as a friend! And if you'd like, send me a message/email and we can exchange contact info, as well! ;-)

Read More About GIRLMEANT2FLY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 22)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 400.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Welcome to Hashimoto's Thyroiditis Natural.

    *♥ -:¦:-*♥~.•*´¨ )♥~*-:¦:-*♥~.•*´¨ )♥~*-: -*♥-*
    . . . never stop encouraging yourself and others in the pursuit of worthy goals. Mark McIntosh
    *♥ -:¦:-*♥~.•*´¨ )♥~*-:¦:-*♥~.•*´¨ )♥~*-: -*♥-*

    Have a wonderful New Years Eve and a Happy New Year

    1301 days ago
    Hi Melissa!

    I was just wondering how you were doing and if you were back in Germany?

    Hope you had some happy holidays!

    3860 days ago
    I'm glad that you joined the Eagles Wings team. Your story would be an inspiration to a few of the members of the team, I hope you post an Introduction letter to the other members, telling them a little about yourself. Brie, Team Leader of the Eagles Wings.
    4220 days ago
    Glad to have you join the Gold's Gym Cardio Workout team. We have some new challenges coming up in January. Hope you have a great week!
    4227 days ago
    Hi Melissa, How's the flying going? Which licence are you aiming for? Paddington
    5009 days ago
Member Comments (18):  123Next >Last >>