See this image larger
Geri - December 2009 Church Christmas party

See this image larger
Me & my Husband December 2009

See this image larger
Geri-M.J. - March 12, 2010

go to goodies page
Happy Birthday
go to goodies page
Gold Medal
go to goodies page
Workout Shoes

Interact with GERIMJ
Add as SparkFriend Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm 72 yrs. old, married for nearly 50 years, mother of two and gr-mother of 4 beautiful grand-daughters.
I enjoy sewing, genealogy research, keeping the younger grandchildren and life in general.

My husband and I were both born and raised in the mountains of sw Virginia but moved away as young adults.
I am very content with my life except I would prefer to live in Florida since we lived there about 45 years and moved to south GA 5 yrs. ago to babysit the youngest granddaughter who is now 7.

My doctor tells me I am taking all of the oral med's he can give me for the diabetes and the next step is insulin injections. This is what I want to avoid if I can prevent it! I have had to have my thyroid removed so that too is a problem along with all the other high readings on my lab tests. The Dr. tells me all I need to do is to loose a little weight and everything will be ok.
I know what I need to do is watch my food portion sizes and also to get out of my chair and exercise. At 72 yrs. old, this is not easy to do but I am working on changing my habits.

A few months ago, I was near 200 but have lost down to 160 at the present time. My goal weight is about 140 so I have a ways to go.

Member Since: 2/16/2010

Fitness Minutes: 961

My Goals:

Smaller food portions.

Loose about 35 lbs.

Find lasting friends.

My Program:
Walk on treadmill daily.

Control food portions.

Communicate online.

Personal Information:
Married 49 yrs.
2 grown children
Gr-mother of 4
Retired Office Mgr.
Hobbies: computer, genealogy, sewing, quilting.
So. Baptist
Lived in VA, MI, NC, TN, FL & GA
Hoping to soon move to a condo.

Other Information:

Read More About GERIMJ - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 30)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 172.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Thanks for the goodie and thinking of me, Geri. We moved to the mountains from Fla. 7 years ago and I can think of no place I'd rather be. We've quit taking vacations because all my life all my "dream vacations" were to be in the mountains! Hope you get a chance to come up this way some day soon. If you do, please let me know- it's so much fun to meet Spark Friends in person!
    2787 days ago
    Thank you for adding me as a friend. We are on the same quilting team, and I also like geneology. You are doing so well with your weight loss, I hope you are feeling better already.

    I'm sorry to hear about your husband, that is a hard road somedays. I'm glad you are active here on Sparks and enjoy conversations with friends.

    Have a good week!
    2793 days ago
    Hi Gerri I love your dancing lady on your page though you may not feel like dancing much now .
    I can't say I am an expert but we can learn together as my husband is at a the start of this dreadful path they must follow .
    Some days M is fine others argumentative and hard to deal with. I am telling myself only do that has to be done, don't bother arguing even if you know you are right. Try to keep away from problem situations .
    I can cope with forgetfulness but not good on anger moments.i know it's frustration on Ms part,
    Have you family near? That's a great help, I also find it important to keep up my own friendships and interests as much as I am , I do cross stitching and greeting card making. Look after yourself too. Warm wishes Ree

    2819 days ago
    Hi, Geri-
    It was so good to hear from you! We do love living in the mountains (not crazy about the high taxes in NC, but the trade-off is worth it). I'm pretty much self-taught with the quilting because it's over an hour's drive to the nearest quilt shops so I've only taken a couple of classes. But some things that have helped me are joining a quilt guild and using the internet for lessons, ideas, videos (YouTube is a gold mine!). I wish we lived closer because I'd love to have a quilting buddy, too. Let me know how your quilting goes.

    As you can tell, I also live too far from a gym, too. I tried Curves when we first moved here, but it's 17 miles to town so by the time I went down there, worked out, came home and showered, the day was half over and it was another long trip if I needed to go anywhere. When I got cancer, DH bought me a very nice treadmill and put a small tv in front of it. That's how I get my walks in when the weather is too bad. I also have dumbells, resitance bands and a stability ball (all from Wal-Mart, so cheap) for my strength training. When the weather is good (read that as above 40 degrees!) I walk up the mountain with DH and the dogs. That 2.5 miles is at grades of 15 and 18% and Spark's tracker says it burns over 450 calories!

    Don't give up on the weight loss. It's still a struggle for me, but I feel great and my doctor says I'm doing well. Just set some small goals for your exercise and then add to it as you feel ready. Best wishes on your journey to a healthier you!
    Carol (my initials are LCB)
    3700 days ago
    Hi Geri and Welcome to the Dealing with Anxiety Team. Feel free to visit our boards and introduce yourself, we are a friendly team. It's good to know we're not alone. Hope to see you around.
    Co-Leader of Dealing With Anxiety Team
    3701 days ago
Member Comments (24):  123Next >Last >>