60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 70,285

See this image larger
Some help from my friends


Interact with DMS1946
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I live in sunny southern california in a 55 + community that I moved to in 2015. I moved here after living in sunny San Diego, California for 50 years. San Diego is now about 70 miles away but has similar weather so that is good. I love being retired. I find it amazing how many activities are out there for seniors and many of them are little to no cost.

Now a bit about my health. My highest weight was 248 lbs in 2011. I am now down to 186. The positive lifestyle changes I have made have made this happen. I am finding it a little harder to lose the remaining 35-40 lbs but am hanging in there with my efforts. I find it easier for me to be physically active and more challenging to stay on a healthy eating course. However I am focusing on how far I have come, not how far I have to go.

I had a TIA in 2014. I didn't have any permanent damage but it was scary and encouraged me to continue taking good care of my health. I also have problems tolerating statins which is recommended for someone having a TIA. As of a few months ago I have discontinued them totally which is scary for me to do. I recently started taking red yeast extraction as recommended by my primary physician. Otherwise I consider myself pretty healthy overall for someone who turned 70 on Fathers Day, June 19th, 2016.

I have found the trackers especially good for keeping me accountable. I also have enjoyed the recipes, reading the blogs and support from my team members to be invaluable.

Member Since: 8/16/2012

Fitness Minutes: 60,452

My Goals:
Continue activities and eating habits that build my health and help me get down to 175 lbs by 12-31-17.

My Program:
Regular physical activity and posting it on Fitness Tracker is a routine part of my program. I also strive to stay between 1300-1500 calories and follow Spark People nutrition guidelines for fat, fiber cholesterol and sodium. Finally, I find doing regular meditation helps me manage stress. This is important as I tend to overeat and binge when stressed.

Personal Information:
I have been married for 46 years. We decided not to have kids but consider our doggies to be our kids. We own 2 homes and currently are on good terms but live separately. So far it is working out great with him still living in San Diego and me up here in Murrieta, CA.

I enjoy playing solitaire, reading, drawing. surfing the net and walking my dog and taking it for car rides. I also enjoy doing strength training and swimming in our hugh community pool we have.

Other Information:

Read More About DMS1946 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 28)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
  • This user doesn't allow comments.