50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 50,223
See this image larger
My son and me in a cave, October 2010

See this image larger
Celebrating my 32nd birthday at Warrior Dash!

See this image larger
I'm a Mrs.! January 26, 2013

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
High Five

CAGIRAFFE is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with CAGIRAFFE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi! I first registered with SP in August 2006, and lasted a whole week before I stopped participating - it just seemed too hard. I came back in December 2006 with a new attitude, and lost over 77 pounds by August 2007!

By 2011, I had lost an additional 20 pounds, but in 2013 the scale began to creep up after a hysterectomy left me menopausal (at 34 years young). My old tricks to keep weight off weren't as successful as before, and fatigue made it tough to exercise as much as I used to. A move to a new state, a new job, and life in general was not helping my quest to stay strong and healthy.

Both my parents passed away recently, due (in part) to questionable lifestyle choices. I miss them both, and want to be around for my family as long as possible. With that in mind, I scheduled a physical with my doctor in fall 2017 to address some health concerns and questions I had. After months of testing, it's official - I'm intolerant to gluten (but not celiac). Since eliminating gluten from my diet, I feel much better, have more energy, and the weight has been dropping off. After gaining over 50 pounds since 2013, I only have 15-20 pounds left to lose.

I'm still learning the ropes of gluten-free life, and tracking my food ensures I don't replace gluten with unhealthy fats or Frankenfoods. I'm also working on my fitness - I was in my 20s when I initially joined SP, and could do cardio nonstop. Now that I'm almost 40, I'm focused more on stretching, strength training, and HIIT. I've got this!

Member Since: 8/21/2006

Fitness Minutes: 20,688

My Goals:
-Get my CPA license
-Be an awesome mom and wife!
-Complete a half marathon in under 2 hours (current PR is 2:07)
-Do a push-up (of all my goals, this one seems the most elusive!!)

My Program:
I'm sticking with SP's calorie and other nutritional guidelines every day, and exercising 3-5x/week. I'm a C25k graduate and completed my first marathon in November 2008. I also play tennis, and enjoy bicycling and using my elliptical. I strength train 2-3x per week.

Personal Information:
I have a wonderful husband, one son, and two stepdaughters. I also have several furbabies.

Other Information:

Read More About CAGIRAFFE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 13)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 194.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (87):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>