5,500-6,999 SparkPoints 5,728
See this image larger
2018: This is us

See this image larger
2018 Cruise!

See this image larger
2011. Yoga on the beach. Doesn't get much better than that.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
go to goodies page
Two Thumbs Up

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

My story is long, so I'll keep it short...for now. I was heavy all my life, then lost weight. Not only did I lose weight, but I got lean enough to compete in figure competitions. I even won a show. But after a few years, I became obsessed with perfection. I burned out, developed disordered eating, and hit rock bottom. In a nutshell, I couldn't keep up.

Let me say, I'm VERY PROUD of competing! Ever since I saw a picture of Monica Brant back in 1998, I was determined one day to be on a fitness stage! And I did it! I met some amazing people and saw myself accomplish something I only dreamed of! Unfortunately, strict dieting and over training caused my metabolism to plummet. And I never wanted my daughter to grow up looking at her body the way I looked at mine.

Life has come full circle for me. I'm starting over. Now, I'm trying to find balance between exercise, eating clean, and living life. Sparkpeople helped me back in 2007; and now I'm back. Because it works.

Because THIS time, when I lose weight and get fit, it will be FOREVER.

Member Since: 4/18/2012

Fitness Minutes: 14,497

My Goals:
To find my true "Happy Weight."

As of May 2020, I am 49 years old. I am also a shorty at 5'2". A happy weight, for me, is a weight that is realistic and maintainable with a moderate diet and exercise plan. My in-season (competition weight) is between 119-123; that requires intense dieting and extreme exercise, and that is something I can't maintain. I believe 130-135 is much more realistic at this point in my life.


Weight: 130-135
Bodyfat: 15-20%
Strength: Lift heavier each time I go to the gym; Specifically, I'd like to hit 25 pushups without stopping; 5 pullups.
Endurance: Never been a runner, but I wouldn't mind running a 5K.

My goal is to find ACCEPTANCE of my body, not SATISFACTION. The latter is just impossible. The former is doable.

My Program:

Working out at home, until the gym opens up again!

M/W/F: Full body circuits: Sparkpeople's Premium workouts are fantastic! Double Duty Circuit is my circuit for the next 4 weeks. Then I'll switch it up!

T/Th/Sat: Walk/jog intervals for 30 minutes on treadmill

Walking with my daughter everyday. :)

Personal Information:
Wife to "Biff," and mom to 2 great kids. Live near the beach and loving it!

Other Information:

Read More About BUFFYLOVESBIFF - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 10)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 137.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (15):  123Next >