See this image larger
Me (2nd from right) @ 257 lbs at my brother's wedding.

See this image larger
Nov. '08 My 2yr old with Me (169lbs) in my favorite Indy Jersey. Go Colts!

See this image larger
Nov. '08. My 3yr old Lillie sitting on my knee.

go to goodies page
Easter Basket
go to goodies page
Miss You
go to goodies page
Relaxation Music

ARMYMOMOFFOUR is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hello fellow Sparkers! I'm a busy Mom of three young children, a 5 1/2 year old son, a 4 year old daughter, and a 2 1/2 year old son. My husband and I have been very happily married for eight years and have moved literally all over the country with the Army.

I've been chubby most of my life and at times a little envious of my gorgeous younger sisters. I gained fifty pounds with my first successful pregnancy and was never able to lose it, my husband was deployed at the time and to counter the depression I ate everything in sight. Shortly after he returned home from Iraq we became pregnant again with our daughter and when she was only five months old we were surprised with the news of yet another baby. After giving birth to our youngest son I never seemed to get myself out of pregnancy eating habits.

I'm about 5'3" and at my heaviest I weighed 257 pounds. Even though I've never really had any chronic medical problems I started to notice how my knees hurt and I was out of breath when coming up stairs. Over the past two years I've had some real life changers, one of them being the loss of both of my in-laws in 2006(he was 61, she was 59). The other was when I received some photos of myself at my older brother's wedding (like the one to the left) and I just couldn't believe that I really looked that way.

I knew that I had to do something, and the only thing that made sense was to change the way I was living my life. In
April of last year I saw my doctor and took his advice, since then I've lost about 90 pounds. I already have more energy than I've had my entire life but more importantly, I've realized now that I'm worth the effort. I wish all of you the best of luck on your journeys, mine is still a little ways from over and I hope to make friends with many of you along for the ride.

Member Since: 5/28/2008

Fitness Minutes: 25,418

My Goals:
First Major Goal Reached!
July 7, 2008=200lbs
57 lbs down

Second Mini-Goal Reached!
September 11, 2008=180lbs

My next big-goal is 165

My Program:
Generally I try to remain below 1,500 calories and 50 grams of fat on any particular day.

I try to keep myself busy, and with kids that's not difficult to do. Personal exercise videos, my treadmill, and my recumbant bike also come in handy.

Personal Information:
I grew up in Southern California, my husband of eight years was raised in North-eastern Arkansas. Together we have three beautiful children and would really love to have one more. I'm a very happy stay at home Mom, my husband has been active duty Army for 12 years (right now he's an E-7). They call him a 74D which is a nuclear, biological, chemical, radiological weapons specialist. Yikes! Around here we call him 'daddy'.

Other Information:
Places we've been stationed in 8 years.

Fort Irwin, Ca. 511th MI, 11th ACR
Jackson, Ms recruiting battalion, Memphis Co.
Fort Bliss, Tx 2-1 Air defense artillery
Fort Sill, Ok 5-3 Field artillery
Fort Leonard Wood, Mo. Chemical defense training facility
& finally
Fort Richardson, Ak. HQ 95th Chem

Read More About ARMYMOMOFFOUR - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 181.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (120):  123Next >Last >>