See this image larger
December 2010. Friend's 21st birthday party at some swanky bar in the city.

See this image larger
December 2010. House holiday photo. A full-body shot that looks all right!

See this image larger
inspirational text courtesy of

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with ADK_RUNNER
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello! My name's Annie, I'm 22 years young, and I just graduated college in May. I'm ready for all the adventures life has to offer--so ready, in fact, that I've decided to live in China for a year! I'll be teaching English to university students in the Shandong province. I embark on August 25th for my life-altering adventure!

Although I'm thrilled to be going abroad, I am a little worried about all the temptations abroad. The temptations to overindulge on tasty new foods, to skip runs, to pretend like bad choices are okay because "I'm on vacation." That was my mentality when I lived in Paris for a semester, but I'm determined to not relapse into that mindset! I've come a long way since Paris, physically and mentally, and I think I'm more prepared than ever to tackle the challenges of living in China. My goal is to leave China a different person, inside and out!

I am so excited to experience the non-western world. If anyone has any tips about living or traveling in Asia, please share!

Member Since: 6/2/2009

Fitness Minutes: 11,859

My Goals:
-:- enjoy life more
-:- be more confident in my body
-:- be healthier
-:- climb mountains easier
-:- be comfortable doing physical activities with physically fit friends
-:- be able to wear skirts and dresses without having my thighs rub together :/

-:- run a 5k (DONE - summer 2010)
-:- run a 10k (DONE - fall 2010)
-:- run a half marathon
-:- run a marathon
-:- ride a half century
-:- ride a century

My Program:
-:- run at least 3x/week
-:- yoga 1x/week
-:- weight-lifting/30DS at least 2-3x/week
-:- sit-ups at least 2-3x/week
-:- walk/bike everywhere (no car...)

-:- LONG bike rides (30+ miles) when the weather is good and I am free!

-:- mostly vegetarian
-:- as much local and organic as I can afford
-:- limit the amount of pre-processed foods
-:- sweets everyday! (I've really cut back, but I should cut back more)

Personal Information:
Hi, my name's Annie. I'm 22 and am a recent college graduate. I double majored in English and Government.

I'm originally from outside of Chicago, but I've lived in upstate New York for the last 4 years, and now I'm off to live in China for the next year!

Other Information:
Favorite Quotations

"The shortest answer is doing the thing." --Hemingway

"Happiness is a choice." --my preferred maxim

Read More About ADK_RUNNER - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 183.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (37):  123Next >Last >>