60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 64,782
See this image larger
Shirley & Joe July 2010

See this image larger
Our "Family"

See this image larger
Tessa & Toreh

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Espresso Machine
go to goodies page

Interact with 626MUSREV
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm a 73 year old male. I'm married to Shirley (who has had a gastric by-pass in 2007 and has lost over 208 lbs.) I was contemplating having the same surgery, but then I came across SparkPeople. I've been at it since 2008. Even though I've had some set backs, I know that SparkPeople works for me. I had set a goal of losing 50lbs., but have found that what is working for me is to go smaller and more realistic with short term goals. I recently had my fourth heart attack. My A1C has been out of control 8.8 with triglycerides at 444. I am currently in cardio rehab 3 times a week and have come to the web sites that I really enjoy using. I also have the mobile app. It keeps me accountable, and I know that weight is not the priority in my life right now, however, when I exercise regularly and eat well, the weight will come down, as well as my A1C numbers. In fact my most recent A1C was 5.2 on September 5, 2016. Lipids will be done in November. I found a good quote for me in one of the Spark articles: "Never give up� keep fighting for your dreams! "

Member Since: 7/30/2008

My Goals:
Long term to lose 50 lbs.
To be able to control my diabetes only by diet, exercise. and reduced medication!
To make right choices in foods and portion sizes.
To increase my daily activity.
Try to drink at least 8 glasses of water a day.

My Program:
I am back at it. Even though I've been out of the loop for a long time., I realize Spark People is the place I need to be in contact with good articles, exercise motivation, and positive reinforcement.I need to log in every day because I need accountability.
I am trying to get more activity in my day instead of sitting at my desk for hours.

Personal Information:
Associate Pastor at Calvary Christian Center in Harborcreek, PA
My wife and I have been married since 1977.
We have 2 Yorkshire Terriers, (Contessa Maria and Tor-eh Amadeo).
I lead Worship at our 1st service, work with our choir and oversee our senior citizens group.
I teach private Voice lessons.

Other Information:
Degrees earned:
B.A. Philosophy from St. Vincent College, Latrobe, PA
M.Div from St. Vincent Seminary, Latrobe PA
M.M. from Indiana University, Bloomington, IN
Ordination Certificate from Calvary Ministries International.

Read More About 626MUSREV - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 283.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hi Joe!
    I saw your post on the Small Dogs, Big Hearts team and so I thought I'd stop by and say hello. HELLO!

    What gorgeous furbabies you have! My DD(dear aughter) has a teacup and her name is Josie. I had a Maltese but he's no longer with us. Anyhoo, like I said, just stopping by! Have a good day!
    3805 days ago
    Let's go, Joe! emoticon
    3843 days ago
  • v NWFL59
    Hi just thought I'd stop by and say hello and wish you well on your journey. I too plan to get healthier and hope to reduce the amount of meds and shots as well as just back to being more physically active. Best wishes. emoticon
    3859 days ago
    Hi Joe, Thought I'd stop in and say 'hi' ... hope all is well!
    I'm trying to get back on track ... it's been an interesting several months here. Keep in touch ...

    Lynn emoticon
    3896 days ago
    Just stopping by to wish you well emoticon
    3913 days ago
Member Comments (87):  << First< Previous23456Next >Last >>