See this image larger
Smiling and profiling

See this image larger
Me and my wonderful husband.

See this image larger
Me and my Husband during family reunion 2010

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with SHADICAR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

So hear I am, middle-aged and over weight. I never thought I would be overweight because I promised myself I wouldn't after seeing the health complications obesity can cause. My mother was obese. My sisters were overweight. An entire host of aunts, uncles and cousins are overweight. How did this happen!! I didn't really see myself as large. My husband likes the way I look even though he wouldn't mind if I lost weight.

After all I have walked for the past 18 years. But I overate!!! I cooked desserts, yummy dishes, ate in restaurants, etc. My life revolves around food. Food is fun. Friends, food, and fun is my life. So I'm just tired of starting diets only to get off track . Tired of being a statistic and stereotype. No more. I plan on being healthy, fit, toned, and slim from here on out. I want to be an example to my daughters for their middle age and my granddaughter. I have not neglected the spiritual side of my life and I believe God will be pleased if I take care of this body he has placed me in. I don't want obesity to cause health issues in the latter years that I could have done something about. So here I go......

Member Since: 10/30/2008

Fitness Minutes: 12,885

My Goals:
I sorta have a weight goal, but I'll be happy to get into a size 8 instead of 14. I am using a size 10 skirt to measure meeting my first goal and a medium blouse. I don't want to be a slave to the scale. I am 5'2'' and I know around 140 I began to look better in my clothes.

My Program:
I am using the spark food tracker and fitness tracker. Staying within 1200-1550 cal/day. Currently I am walking 6 days a week for 1 hour in my neighborhood or on the treadmill. I am also doing P90x for strength training and variety. I am exercising 2x a day to kick myself into gear until I lose the weight. I allow myself one free or cheat meal on the weekend. I love this-helps me with cravings and stress eating.

Personal Information:
My name is Sharon and I am a wife, mom, grammy, sister, aunt, and friend. I love my God and savior Jesus. I love His people, the Church. I live in a beautiful little beach town of New Smyrna Beach, FL. I want to grow old and be in the best health I can be and enjoy my family as I age.

Other Information:
I'll be 48 years old in December and would really like to have met my goal of size 8. I am weighing myself once a month and trying on my skirt once a month to check progress. I hope to be half way to goal by July.

Read More About SHADICAR - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 18)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 149.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (89):  123Next >Last >>