20,000-24,999 SparkPoints 21,369
See this image larger
Our son's wedding

See this image larger

See this image larger
Just believe!

go to goodies page
Woo Hoo!
The woohoo jar ...
go to goodies page
Woo Hoo!
The woohoo jar ...
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with LADYBUG4869
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Melissa. I'm 47. I have lost a little over 70 pounds. I am looking for more support as I lose the last 10 pounds on my weight loss journey.

Things about me: I have always loved ladybugs. I have 4 ladybug tattoos. I started my ladybug obsession when I was in my teens. It's kind of died down now that I'm in my 40's but it used to be really crazy and obsessive where I had tons of ladybug things/decorations in every room of my home.

I have 3 children ages 27, 24 and 21. My youngest son recently married and is expecting his first child (my 2nd grandchild!). I also have a 4.5 year old grandson. Life is really good for me right now.

I have had tremendous losses of life in my family. I think that is what led to my weight gain to 201 pounds. My father died of ALS, my brother in law and my cousin took their own lives in the last 3 years. Just a lot of loss and how I handled it was eating to stuff the feelings down, down, down.

I really love food and love to eat. Food is a drug for me and unfortunately one that I "have" to deal with each day. Unlike cigarettes and alcohol and drugs, food is something I HAVE to consume. Learning to control my consumption has been the most challenging thing for me, yet the most rewarding. I am happy I have gone down the weight loss trail and look forward to my continued progress!

Member Since: 5/8/2013

Fitness Minutes: 38,504

My Goals:
New Goals on 10/22/2013:

Lose down to 130 lbs.

Walk 30 min. daily.

Log in daily to SP.

Track all food & activity.


My Program:
Sparkpeople is providing so much information for me!! I have been getting more healthier over the last 3 years. My top weight was 203 pounds. I tried numerous diets that DID work but I didn't feel supported. I have been on SP since May of 2013 and have found many friends who are experiencing the same journey as myself. I love this site!!

I am now tracking all my food and activity through SP.

Personal Information:
I live in Kansas but was born and raised in Texas, where I met my husband. We relocated to his home state of Oklahoma and he attended school, where after his graduation from OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY, we relocated again to Kansas for his job. Kansas is interesting but it's not home.

Other Information:
I love college football. Oklahoma STATE University is my FAVORITE TEAM EVER! Go Pokes! I love Big 12 football!

Read More About LADYBUG4869 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 15)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 144.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (198):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>