See this image larger
My daughter Kari and me at my dad's 70th birthday party in May 2009.

See this image larger
My Mother's Day gift from Kari (at 165 lbs). Only 5 more to go to reach 50 lbs lost in 8 months. =0)

See this image larger
Me at 210+ lbs at my niece's birthday party in August 2008 -- a photo catalyst to my Spark journey.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Fruit Salad

Interact with KJR8298
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello, my name is Karen. I have lost over 55 lbs since I joined SparkPeople in September 2008. I am so happy about this accomplishment and quite proud of myself. I feel very good about the lifestyle changes I've made. It feels great to know that I've not only lost the weight but kept it off.

My daughter "karichelle" encouraged me to join. I am very proud of her and very thankful for her continuous support and encouragement.

My eating and exercise habits have changed tremendously since September 2008. I was a couch potato with a capital "C" and "P." I couldn't even walk 1/2 mile without stopping to rest. I have more energy now and enjoy exercise. I can easily walk 3 - 5 miles. I get up at 4 AM on weekdays so I have time to exercise before I leave for work. My day is not complete without my morning exercise.

I love being outdoors hiking, fishing, collecting sea shells and simply enjoying nature. I like to cross-stitch and read in my spare time. I painted my first watercolor recently. I think that class may have awakened a new talent.

I have a wirehaired dachshund named Effie. She is 6 years old. We adopted her on March 11, 2009 through a local rescue group. She loves to go for walks. I also have two grand-dogs -- a dachshund named Cocoa and a yorkie named Bean.

Member Since: 9/8/2008

My Goals:
Make healthier food choices.

Eat more fruits and vegetables and fewer sweets. (I love chocolate!)

Exercise every day.

Take the stairs instead of the elevator.

My Program:
I am counting calories and eating a more balanced diet. I do some type of cardio 3 - 4 days a week and strength training exercises 2 - 3 days a week. My husband and I bought a recumbent bike for Christmas. I ride 6+ miles on it 3 - 4 times each week.

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Read More About KJR8298 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 22)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 154.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (17):  123Next >Last >>