go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with JULES-AT-HEART
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

The short story:

I've been overweight since I was 22. I just turned 41 last July and want it to change for good. I want to feel better about myself and be healthy. I'm sick of being sick. It's time for a change.

The long story:

I've been overweight for most of my adult life. There has been a time in my early 30's when I started working out and eating healthier and subsequently lost 80 lbs in 10 mos.

When I met my 2nd husband on 8/1/06, I weighed about 213. I had mostly kept up my healthy eating habits which helped me not gain too much back from my 80 lb loss. We started dating and got serious really quick. He wanted the same things I did and loved me for me. So, I slowly stopped worrying about what I was eating and gained back all of the weight. I weighed 270 when we married 2/18/07 (6.5 mos later).

Life seems to have passed by quickly... I just turned 41 & my son is in his second year of college. I have many health problems; some due to my weight, others due to genetics, and the rest just happened. I recently found out one of the health issues, which has stopped me from losing weight, is due to an underactive thyroid. On top of all my health issues, I was in the hospital for 5 days (ICU for 1.5 days) with double pneumonia and double bi-lateral pulmonary embolisms in June 2011.

I had been steady at about 323 lbs for a while, which is the most I weighed in my life, ever, and 100 lbs over what I weighed when I was 9 months pregnant. How did I let it get this bad? I told myself I'd never get close to 300. *sad face* Once I went into the hospital I know I needed a change.

Now, I am living a healthy lifestyle by eating healthy and almost daily exercise. Hopefully, with the help of SparkPeeps, encouragement from my husband, my best friend and my family, and motivation, I can do this.

Member Since: 7/9/2011

Fitness Minutes: 420

My Goals:
Fit into clothes below size XL. (now wearing 4X)

Love & care about myself & my appearance.

Lose enough weight so I can stop taking most of my meds.

My Program:
1. Drink more water.
2. Stay away from sugar.
3. Eat breakfast everyday.
4. Eat more whole foods.
5. Go to bed earlier.
6. Workout 5 days a week for about an hour.

Personal Information:
My name is Julie and I'm originally from Liverpool, NY (central NY outside of Syracuse). I currently live in Colorado Springs, CO.

I'm married to an Army officer (he's a Major) and I have a son, age 19, in college.

My husband also has a son and a daughter. His son, 20, also just started college. His daughter is a long story.

My husband and I have 4 dogs: a chihuahua, a small Lab mix, and a chiweenie (chihuahua/dachsund mix), and a Schnauzer/Brussels Griffon mix.

Other Information:
I'm family-oriented, a perfectionist, a good listener (and talker), sarcastic, and, hopefully, a good mom. I love spending time with my son and always miss him when he's away.

I love watching movies, TV, and going on the internet for FB and Pinterest. I used to love rollercoasters until I got vertigo and now I can't go on rides anymore. =[

Nothing tastes as good as healthy feels.

Read More About JULES-AT-HEART - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 59.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (51):  123Next >Last >>