See this image larger
Off to go climbing and hoping to catch a tan August 2011

See this image larger

See this image larger
Finally getting back to the pre-all my organs not working properly weight.

go to goodies page
Woo Hoo!
go to goodies page
Workout Shoes
go to goodies page
New Wardrobe

Interact with FIGURE_1
Add as SparkFriend Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I have only once been overweight, and realising this and seeing my sister reach the same weight as my father (70kg), I've been scrupulous, but not always successful at trying to shed it. But it through continuing to learn and experiment, I'm getting closer all the time to my goal of sub-20% body fat.

My nickname - Figure 1 was derived from my desire to not look like a 10 next to my naturally lean ex-boyfriend. And I tend towards 'curvey' in a bad way. Never really being obese (I was overweight according to BMI at one time) I need to be very careful in what I eat.

Plus side is I love exercise, always have, even when I know I looked like someone who doesn't exercise. In particular, I climb once a week, run when my schedule permits, workout four times a week and watch what I eat most of the time, with occasional treat days.

Old about me:
I'm a marathon runner, who admittedly is not running much at the moment, a rock climber, gym bunny and a complete health freak. I love food, (whole, natural) and eat a generally very clean diet. I wish I could say this is because of pure discipline, unfortunately, if I don't, I gain weight very quickly.

My body is recovering from divorce, my decision to study full-time, and atypical encephalitis. Join me on my journey as I battle coffee addiction, allergies, and a host of poorly-functioning organs (thanks to encephalitis) to lose 6% body fat.

Member Since: 9/28/2010

Fitness Minutes: 47,196

My Goals:
Sub 20% body fat.

Do a handstand (I used to want to do a pull-up, now I do 10 or more depending on the bar)

Goals reached:

* Have perfectly functioning organs.

* Pre-encephalitis weight reached.

* Lowest weight of my adult life.

My Program:
Nutrition: Watching calorie count and macro nutrients with clean eating when possible.

Workouts: Strength training three or four times a week depending on programme, cardio twice a week.

Support and accountability: Noting my eating, weight, body fat and exercise.

Personal Information:
Johannesburg, South Africa

Other Information:
"We only change when the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change."

Read More About FIGURE_1 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 147.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (18):  123Next >Last >>